June 27, 2008

tonight’s the night

Posted in home in hawaii at 10:23 am by Malia Yoshioka

so tonight i leave for paris. the past ten days have been a whirlwind, to say the least! i know that most of you have really hectic schedules, but it was so nice to get to see everyone together even for a short time. thanks to my wonderful friends for all the get togethers, lunches, movies, dinner parties, and for helping me run errands and to get from point A to point B! (i miss my car!)

and it was wonderful seeing our high school class at the MHS reunion, as well as getting to spend time with my family on maui. i know with email and the internet that we’ll all be keeping in touch, but it still makes me sad each time i have to leave you all in hawaii. (can you just hear “honolulu city lights” playing softly in the background? i always do.)

i’m about as ready as i’ll ever be for paris. my bag is packed, to-do list is empty, and all that’s really left is spending as much time as possible with those i love! after traveling with jess for almost six months, it’s strange to be heading out on my own tonight.

people have asked me what i’m looking forward to the most about paris. first of all, i’m really excited for the writing workshop. our professors have sent out the official syllabus and there are three core classes that i’ll be taking – creative nonfiction (by rolf potts!), literary fictions, and a “paris journal” class that will take us out into the streets of paris to really live what we write. i’ve got some required reading for the plane too, including books by my professors and a phrasebook to brush up on my rusty french!

besides the workshop itself, i’m excited to reacquaint myself with paris. i’m looking forward to strolling the banks of the seine, taking in all the wonderful museums, snapping tons of photos, and having lots and lots of baguettes, cheese, and wine. ahhhh, paris…. =)

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    Bon Voyage Malia!! Have a great trip! Love you. Mom

  2. Kim said,

    Oh, I’m so jealous. I love Paris. You’re going to have an amazing time! That’s OK though, because I’ll see you very soon in Greece!

    (p.s. I know EXACTLY what you mean about ‘honolulu city lights’) =)

  3. jessica said,

    Yes, very strange it is not knowing what you ate for breakfast lunch & dinner???

    FYI…. I ate mash & gravy today. Tear…..


Leave a Reply

